Hatching Free Range Ideas

What do dogs see?

In Uncategorized on June 24, 2010 at 6:40 pm

I can’t imagine a life without dogs, how too quiet, how too sad, how too lonely. Not to be greeted exuberantly even though you were only gone for 1/2 hour. A gaze that says all the power of the world must be yours to command. Even though the vacuum has to be cleaned after every use and the drool mopped up off the wood floors and the bed shared equally, 1/2 to the two humans and 1/2 to the dog.

This is Fiona, a year and a half old Irish Wolfhound. When you first meet her, you can’t look at her. You have to stand very still until she comes up behind you and bumps your hand. Then you can pet her, but you still can’t look at her.

She isn’t mine but I would love for us to be friends. Each time I visit I am able to get a little closer on my own.

Would I work this hard to get to know a person who wasn’t sure about me? Probably not. Would you?

  1. What a great dog, one who might make a very good friend to someone willing to bring a few treats along with each visit. She seems to choose friends carefully, but treats would help!

  2. no is my answer. I probably wouldn’t work as hard to get to know a person. But . . . . dogs are different. I don’t know how to describe it . . . they just are.

Leave a Reply

