Hatching Free Range Ideas

The next step toward a Shoendelier

In Make something on June 30, 2010 at 3:55 pm

It’s progressing!!! It’s beginning to look like something I like, even though it’s not yet half-dressed. Red glass beads, shoes collected from friends, chandelier crystals from my favorite junk shop. . .

Now it’s the fun stuff only, like decorating a Christmas tree. Which reminds me, I have some red and white carved wooden beads that were used a cople of times for Christmas tree garland. They would be perfect!!!

Yeah, it might have benefitted from a few more coats of red paint. Yeah, it might be better to have taken it to a body shop where someone would shoot it with car laquer and then cure it with heat. Yeah, my artist friends would have made the shoe connections cleaner. All that aside, I LOVE it!

My craft is ephemeral. I think about the origin of “lowering standards.” It’s an old battlefield expression, where the lowering of the lord’s standard on either side meant a signal to parley. It’s a great metaphor for allowing creative expression to enter before your skills are perfect. It’s how I become pleased enough with my craft, such as it is, to continue. Otherwise, I might never start.

My piano playing is similar. It’s good enough for me. When I  accept what I do as good enough, I break down the whispering rock inside that says I’m not. Can you hear it? Chip. Chip. Chip.

P.S. You have one too! Chip. Chip. Chip.

  1. what fun! And what I always loved about you, that ability to just jump in and have fun regardless of the “outcome” — you were always going to be having a great time. Can’t wait to see it in person on Friday!

  2. Yes I can hear it now, thanks for reminding me!

Leave a Reply

