Hatching Free Range Ideas

Branding. Sigh. Back to square one.

In Uncategorized on July 2, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Today it’s time to work on what I do for a living. Don’t get me wrong; I love my work. But, you know how hard it is to explain stuff when you’re really close to it? If you don’t know, have you ever talked to a physicist about work?

 

There are a million assumptions that we make, a million leaps across concepts, a path so well worn that our feet know the exact steps to take after all this time. It’s so familiar that we don’t even remember it, much less remember to explain it.

Which means that we have to remember to forget, to be a beginner. That’s today’s task. Luckily, there are many resources for beginners that aren’t available for seasoned folks. Doesn’t it seem like when you need deep, complex answers, you have to pay for them? But beginning, well there are folks everywhere who will help you start, hoping that once you’ve started you will eventually need their help. Hey! That’s an interesting idea.

But wait, no sidetracking!!! My current challenge is marketing. So, let me share some marketing resources that I’ve found. First, if you aren’t reading Chris Brogan and you have any kind of hope about an online presence, you’re missing some good, painless knowledge. He’s here.

And I found this site a couple of days ago. My task for today is to work through a few of these How-to articles, like how to develop content for your website. These guys are Business Identity 101.

I’m off to figure out some answers to the really basic questions that I forget to ask myself. Because, you see, I already know the answers.

However, I expect that when I ask them as a beginner (from a beginner’s mind) they won’t be the same answers.

I’ll let you know how it all works out when I see you. Until then, how do you describe what you do?

No, no, no! Don’t tell me your new formula for computing the impact of the energy flux on the toroidal radius!

Leave a Reply

