Hatching Free Range Ideas

Birthdays and involuntary milestones

In Uncategorized on July 7, 2010 at 12:33 pm

My Birthday is 5 days away. Some people forget theirs after having many. I don’t. I see them, not only as cause for great celebration but an opportunity for reflection over the past year, in my own time. I don’t do New Year’s resolutions. In fact, the changing of the year number on January 1 seems arbitrary and impersonal. So my year changes on July 12.

This last year saw many things end, some happily, some very sadly. Which means of course, that the coming year offers many great beginnings. I just finished reading 1000 miles in a million years, where the author talks about how great lives share the elements of great stories. I’m still thinking about that as I think about the coming year. What story elements will I incorporate?

One other thought about birthdays. My Dad is almost 89. He’ll be 89 in September. Almost ages are important when we are under 11 (10 and a half) and over 85. Why isn’t turning another year an event otherwise, so that we say we’re almost 37 (I’m not) or almost 55 (closer)?

  1. This reminds me of a great Dan Folgelberg song that I can’t remember the name of. Something about forefathers.

Leave a Reply

