Hatching Free Range Ideas

The red load

In Sustainability on August 9, 2010 at 1:34 pm

My mother didn’t own a dryer. Hanging out the laundry was one of her meditations. I haven’t ever purchased a dryer, although we’ve had a couple that were left in houses we bought. No more. South Texas provides acres of dryer property.

She used to have to take the clothespins off the line because her neighbor said they looked like little birds sitting there and it made her sad. I would have thought that looking at a line of little birds would make someone happy. Hmmm.

I love when all the red clothes are finally dirty. Remember what I said about red being a neutral color? 

Reds and pinks hang together in the South Texas August sun, replacing the few weak blossoms of the now defunct garden. Laundry thrives in the dry heat, unlike my zinnias.

And finally, the red and pink bedsheets come off the line, still smelling like the sun. I crawl between those crackly sheets at the end of the day. Sigh.

  1. I want my sheet to smell like the sun. I am jealous and must find space for a clothes line

Leave a Reply

