Hatching Free Range Ideas

Notes from a massive online course

In How we learn and think, Uncategorized on September 22, 2010 at 1:36 pm

I’m in a course on Personal Learning Environments this month. It’s all online and has over 900 learners. It focuses on how we learn on our own and what tools we use and it’s very Web 2.0 centric. (My brother says friends don’t let friends say Web 2.0.) My major discovery was symbaloo. I’ve only just dipped my toe in the water but it could be something life changing. . . okay, well maybe it could organize all the info that I gather from the web for a project into one neat package. I have to figure it out but if a very bright 7th grader could, I can too. I know I can!

It feels a lot like the early days of e-learning, where we spent most of our time trying to figure out what was what. So, we’re not approaching the practical how to part, which is how I learn, let me do it and I’ll figure out the patterns.

I think it’s because PLEs are so user centered that you can’t propose anything for anyone else without breaking the concept of user centered. It must be so free form as to be unformed. It even seems to make it hard to talk about in anything but the abstract. The cases where universities have entered the fray still break the concept.

I’m in the midst of trying to articulate how I learn. I’m posting my week one notes here because I need a place online to share them. But I thought you might find the idea interesting as well.

So, how do you learn? And what kinds of things drive you to learn? I guess I’m starting with Why do I want to learn and When?

Why learn – Why do I want to learn

  1. […] Notes from a massive online course September 2010 3 […]

Leave a Reply

