Hatching Free Range Ideas

It’s more than nostalgia

In Uncategorized on November 10, 2010 at 2:30 pm

I watched Across the Universe last night. If you haven’t seen it and you lived through a part of this amazing time, it’s a bittersweet visit. It captures the essence of the 60s if not the actuality of that decade, backed by Beatles music all very well done. Thanks to T Bone Burnett for the classic, classy interpretations along with several dynamic performances by Joe Cocker, Bono and of course, Eddie Izzard. I think even John would approve.

But that’s not my point. After we watched, we wondered what had happened to all that we learned then. Where did all those good intentions go, all that learning, all that energy for change? Have I stepped out of the change stream? Is it still going on with new voices, hands and energy?

If so, how did my generation become so complacent? Why did we stop? Did careers and family get in the way? Or was it the case of a few very loud voices sounding like a massive crowd?

Okay, I must stop now. My car needs an oil change. Oh. That’s how.

  1. Kate, What a timely post for me as this is exactly where my heart and mind have been of late. I am determined to find those energetic voices of change!

    “The great use of life is to spend it doing something that will outlast it.”
    — William James, Psychologist

Leave a Reply

