Hatching Free Range Ideas

Out of Africa . . . uh. . .

In How we learn and think, I NEED THAT!, Wandering on March 15, 2011 at 7:01 pm

So, by now most of you know that I’m going to Rwanda for a facilitation workshop. But what you might not know is that the people who are attending are changing their world. With big open hearts. It’s already pretty humbling and I haven’t met them in person yet. But we know each other through an online course.

I’ve been in online courses before, but not with passionate facilitators. It changes my opinion on online courses. And maybe it’s another indication of how an experience changes when you have a highly engaged group.

So how do you engage people who aren’t already? How do you find and connect to personal passions?

Here’s my picture of highly engaged participation. No facilitator really needed.

I hope to post a bit while I’m there, but it will depend on whether I can split my focus, how hard it is to get online and whether I can get photos from my camera, through my little tablet (I should tell you about that!) and onto this blog.

My little tablet — A Coby Kyros. $150. Android operating system. Tim fixed it up so I can get apps from the Android Marketplace. He followed the detailed instructions for newbies that required his intimate knowledge of systems and programming languages. Brilliant!!! I recommend getting on if you need portable internet computing, but only if you talk to Tim. Otherwise, it’s a glorified gadget.

  1. Kate, you have to read (if you haven’t already) The Blue Sweater by Jacqueline Novogratz. Very inspiring.

    • I just checked out the website. You’re right. A really great story!!! I’ll see if I can download the book.

      Here’s a great page from Half the Sky about supporting women around the world. The book is very disturbing but important and hopeful at the same time.

      “Go to http://www.globalgiving.org or http://www.kiva.org and open an account. Both sites are people-to-people (P2P), meaning that they link you directly to a person in need overseas, and this makes them an excellent way to dip your toe in. Global Giving lets you choose a grassroots project to which to give money in education, health, disaster relief, or more than a dozen other areas around the developing world.

      “Kiva lets you do the same for microlending to entrepreneurs. Browse the sites to get a sense of the needs and donate or lend money to those that appeal to you, perhaps as a gift to a family member or a friend.

      “Or try a third site, http://www.givology.com, started by students at the University of Pennsylvania to help children in developing countries pay for primary school. The site initially focused on China but has since expanded to India and Africa. On Global Giving, for example, we have supported a program to keep runaway girls in Mumbai from entering prostitution, while on Kiva we lent money to a woman making furniture in Paraguay.

      “Sponsor a girl or a woman through Plan International, Women for Women International, World Vision, or American Jewish World Service. We ourselves are sponsors through Plan, and we exchange letters and have visited our children in the Phillippines, Sudan, and Dominican Republic. Sponsorship is also a way to teach your children that not all kids have iPods.”

  2. Travel safely. I can’t wait to hear all about your experience. We expect tons of blogging when you return! Or maybe while you are there?? Good luck with all this technology!

  3. Thank you, Carol. Should I bring you a traditional cow dung painting?

  4. Wishing you a many safe travels to and from Africa! Have a great time and looking forward to your return. Take care!

  5. You said “an experience changes when you have a highly engaged group.” I think this is why our time together feels like such a rich experience for me. You are a highly engaged passionate facilitator. Africa is very lucky. Thanks for listing all the giving organizations. Some I haven’t heard of. I think you should make that your next post. Can’t wait for oysters to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

