Hatching Free Range Ideas

One more discovery on garden time

In Uncategorized on June 7, 2011 at 4:08 pm

My hope was that the garden would actually slow time, but what’s true is that it slows my perception of time. You ask, “Well, isnt’ that the same thing?” Two weeks ago, I would have said, “Yes, it is.” This week I know that it’s not true. It seems entirely naive to have thought that because time slows down for me almost to standing still that the rest of the world does too. Okay, yes, I am the center of my world.

And I have two discoveries, one delightful and one very sad that support my new understanding.

First the delightful one: We were visited last week by two dear friends and their two year old. If anything can show you the passing of time, a two year old can as she learned in front of us, gathering up the knowledge that she would need to make her way in the world, moving on, cycling back. She is so different now than she was last October!

Now the sad: In the span of 5-10 minutes last Friday, my best friend went from engaged social active participation to gone. I’m still wrapping my head around that time whiplash. Not fair. Time sucks. His garden is still there, moving at garden time, but he’s not.

And now I remember that post where I said you will lose everyone. At the time it seemed so extreme. Crap!

  1. OMG. What happened?

  2. Kate, I am so sorry for your loss. Mel was one of the most unique, authentic, absolutely-himself people I’ve ever met. What little time I got to spend with him is a cherished memory. If there’s anything I can do for you and Eric, please let me know.

    Nikki

    • Thanks to all of you who wrote such lovely words. I still speak to him; he’s just less quick to answer these days.

  3. Time does suck and it is not fair. Erica called me on Saturday to tell me the news of Mel and I am still shocked by it. I am happy I had the chance to meet him. Please know that our thoughts and prayers are with the family and friends. We will see you this weekend and take care.

    Elizabeth & Eric

  4. Sending love and light and peace and strength your way. ❤

Leave a Reply

