Hatching Free Range Ideas

What is this Sketchnoting workshop anyway?

In Uncategorized on June 23, 2011 at 7:01 pm

 What is Sketchnoting?

  • Are you tired of looking at boring pages of handwritten text and trying to recall why you wrote that particular phrase down? What did it mean to you?
  • Are you having trouble finding the two important points that you know you wrote down somewhere on the page but your eyes just won’t focus on the sea of hen scratching?
  • Do you dread yet another class where you have to take notes to remember and you HATE taking notes?
  • Do you wish that you could do something as interesting as the presenter but not have to stand up in front of a crowd to do it? Do you want to do it right now?
Try Sketchnoting. Sketchnoting is the process of recording ideas using images and words. The picture at the top of this post is a thinking sketchnote when I was trying to figure out what went into a class on Sketchnoting.

 

Why Sketchnote?

When you Sketchnote, you bypass your internal verbal editor to stretch beyond what is familiar. Ideas have room to play and connect to new ideas. Images also engage deeper memories. When I look at my Sketchnotes, I am able to recall what I was feeling, where I was, what else was said that I didn’t record, etc.
I’ve been Sketchnoting for about 4 years. As you can see from my example, you don’t have to be an artist to get real value out of sketchnoting.
But if you want to see what Sketchnotes can become, you can see some great examples from some very accomplished sketchnoters.  http://sketchnotearmy.com/

 

What’s included in the workshop?

The workshop will be held at the Eye of the Dog Art Center in San Marcos, halfway between Austin and San Antonio. It’s a wonderful venue for creative thinking.
The workshop’s emphasis is on the listening/recording process using only simple images.
In 4 1/2 hours, the class will cover:
  • how to listen and think in order to come up with images
  • how to create simple, meaningful pictures
  • how to create and use text as a design element
  • how to draw simple faces and figures that register emotion
  • how to make it all attractive
This class is a pilot which is why it’s cheap ($50). Other four hour classes on sketchnoting and graphic recording start at $200. You have a chance this one time to draw and play and eat and drink and walk away with a journal for your practice for the price of a night out.
If you’re interested in attending, let me know. I’ll keep an email list and send you the Eventbrite invitation once it’s up and ready.
I can’t wait! It’s going to be BIG FUN.
  1. SO. MUCH. WANT.

    I’ve always been envious of how you fill your pages like this. I would love to attend and I’m going to give this class to myself as (another) birthiversary gift. [ ;

  2. I want to attend. What’s the date?

  3. It’s August 20th. And I would love to have BOTH of you in this class. You would add so much!!!

Leave a Reply

