Hatching Free Range Ideas

Capture only the essence

In drawings, Sketchnoting, Uncategorized, Visual Thinking on September 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm

My next learning discovery is a big duh! Why didn’t I tell you this before??? Because when you are in the midst of something it’s hard to think about your thinking. Eva Lotta Lamm’s suggestion is to capture only the essence of a talk when she Sketchnotes. Hey, I didn’t say they were all my discoveries!

When I translate “essence” for myself, I say, “resonance.” I listen for resonance — what is the speaker saying that resonates with me? What did I hear that I care about? That’s what ends up in my drawings. Let’s take this bit of text from an earlier post titled Learning to Fly. I underlined what resonated with me but what will you underline? Find the essence. And then draw based on your essence.

Didn’t we all try as a child, running as fast as we could, leaping from roofs and crashing, crashing to the ground? I’m amused as I think about chickens working this same way to fly. Learning to fly is alot like learning to draw again. Forgetting that we know that we can’t and running, running, running and crashing.

I have a new Bamboo tablet and pen and I’m learning to roughen up the work that the computer has smoothed, adding handmade touches back into my life (and yours as you can see). And, I’m learning to draw, as I did as a child. I am finding the charm in crude illustrations. Wayne Thiebauld told profesisonal painters that they could never compete with the passion that primitive painters have. That’s what I’m thinking here.

There have been times when I have stopped to draw one small picture every morning, in a 2 x 3 inch box. It is amazing what comes out of your brain in that medium. There’s a lot of interesting science on how the use of images impacts and unpacks thinking, like from the work of Gerald Zaltman and of course, all the folks at Vizthink.

Today, I found that I had nothing to write about, until I drew a picture. It was the spark.

What will you draw today?

What else do you notice? It’s tip #3.

Leave a Reply

