Hatching Free Range Ideas

What I want to do when I grow up. . .

In Uncategorized on November 7, 2011 at 6:26 pm

I had the great fortune to listen to a bunch of Dad’s students last week, as they talked about the impact he had on their lives. The stories were funny and touching and it became obvious to me that, just like Mom’s family of art folks who were multi-generational and widely different, Dad had a similar family. Often these families of affinity are kept separate from natural families.

The most powerful statement that I heard was, “He rescued me from mediocrity.” Yeah! How’s that for a life goal!!!

I also had to think about my change the world goal for my first graphic facilitation course assignment. I’m thinking that what I want to do is to remove the blinders that allow our thinking to follow a path we already know.

What’s your change the world goal?

  1. In my work, I strive to help people use technology to make more authentic, deep connections with one another. In the corporate world, I try to model direct, honest communication, even when I’m advised I’m “giving away power.” Mixed results to my bottom line, but the people I meet who get what I’m doing and respond are simply fabulous.

    I love the exercise, “What do you want people saying at your funeral?” I hope someone will say about me, “She showed me that it’s possible, and preferable, to be honest and real – in business, and in relationships.”

    My mom was given the assignment “Write your own epitaph” when she was in college for the second time (in her 40s, post-divorce). I was 8 or so. Her epitaph was “She wasn’t always a good ol’ gal, but she tried.” I remembered it all these years, so we had it carved into her headstone.

Leave a Reply

