Hatching Free Range Ideas

2012 in review and casting forward

In Uncategorized on January 2, 2013 at 3:54 pm

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Click here to see the complete report. . . if you are interested. But here’s what I’m thinking. I abandoned this blog essentially for 2012. See, after writing over 500 pages of content over the last two years, writing wasn’t really a recreational thing for me in 2012. But that’s not write ’cause it’s also how I think. So rather than thinking entirely about what I’m doing for work, I need this kind of stimulation.

Resolution #1 Work toward posting at least once a week.

If you look at the stats on this last year, I posted 32 times . . . to an essentially abandoned blog.  52 is better than abandoned, but might not require that much more effort. So I’m in.

Resolution #2 Eat more vegetables and less meat.

It’s not enough for me to do the first part. That just really translates as eating more.

Resolution #3 Move more — more times and more often with shorter stillnesses.

But will I go to the gym when Karen isn’t waiting there for me.

Resolution #4, from my dear friend Mel, I make it  for both of us. Take a lot less shit from people.

I still can’t believe that you’re not going to come swimming this year. Or the next.

Resolution #5, Do more good. More often and have fun doing it. Live better stories.

Recalling A Million Miles — they don’t need to be BIG stories, like hiking the Inca Trail. Just better.

Resolution #6, Do more to keep up with friends. Make new friends.

My circles seem to have shrunk again as they do in cycles. But that’s dumb ’cause there’s lots of great people already in my circles. I just need to plan connections. See you in Feb., Janine. Are you coming, Shannon? See you Friday, Abby.

Resolution #7, Raise my “traveler” to “Traveler” status.

If that doesn’t make sense, you’ll have to wait for the next post.

 

  1. You’re HERE!!!!

Leave a Reply

